skip navigation
Home Contact Us Join WBCA Camps & Clinics Coaching Positions WBCA Awards Games Wanted WBCA All-State Teams Calendar

West All-Stars Selected

05/08/2024, 7:00am CDT
By Joe Waite, WBCA

A record year for nominations

Mark Fuller, Hall of Fame coach from Cumberland and current assistant coach at UW-Whitewater,  and the only original member of the 40-Year All-Star Classic Committee, has made his final picks for the 2024 West All-Stars.

He said, "After reaching out to several conference coaches, college coaches, and others, and having worked with those involved, I have finally chosen the West Roster for this year's All-Star Classic."

He received a record 58 nominations. "It was the toughest job I've ever had," he added.

Naturally many deserving players didn't make the Final Cut, including many who are receiving baseball scholarships to play at the next level.  Six pitchers were selected from 24 nominees.  Six catchers, 21 infielders, and seven outfielders were also nominated.  All of those nominees must be parred down to 18.

Several criteria are examined.  First and foremost, the school's head coach must be a member of the WBCA.  He must also nominate his player based on his prowess as a ballplayer and traits as an outstanding citizen.  Some consideration is also given to schools that have never had a player represent their school before and with rare exception, no more than one player from each high school is taken.  Hudson is the only high school with two players wearing the Raider's uniform this year for the West.

The West will be coached by Northwood-Minong's Nate Ahlberg, whose team is currently ranked #2 in Division IV, Hudson's Brent Blegen, who had his Raiders competing for yet another Big Rivers title, and WBCA Hall of Fame inductee Steve Warren, who has his Raiders ranked in Division III and has a squad in position to make a deep playoff run.

Two conferences got two picks each on this year's pitching staff. From the Big Rivers Conference is Rice Lake's Easton Stone and Chippewa Falls' Easton Bobb.  From the Wisconsin Valley Conference is DC Everest's Nate Langbehn and Stevens Point Area's Noah Marschke.  Rounding out the squad is Prescott's Cullen Huppert (Middle Border, D2) and Elk Mound's Kaden Russo (Dunn-Saint Croix, D3).

Both catchers come from the Big Rivers Conference.  Hudson's Hunter Carlson and River Fall's Chase McQuade will be handling the pitching staff.

For the infield, Abraham Ahlberg will be representing Solon Springs High School, the first participants from that school, with or without the co-op they now have with Northwood High School in Minong.  Two exceptional players from the Great Northern Conference picked are Medford's Tanner Hraby, whose father/coach coached in the Classic in 2015, and Mosinee's Keagan Jirschele who is the latest addition in great baseball players from the Jirschele family line.  La Crosse Aquinas middle infielder Eddie Peters (D3, Mississippi Valley), and three players from in and around Eau Claire round out the infielders: Eau Claire Memorial's Leo Lauscher, Eau Claire North's Chase Watkins, and Altoona's Trent Cornell (D2, Middle Border).

Three outfielders round out the squad including Abbotsford-Colby's JV Castillo (D2, Marawood North), Hudson's Bryden Bezanson and Flambeau's Giles Groothousen (East Lakeland, D4.). 

The Classic will be played on the weekend of June 28th and 29th.  It's a great weekend of baseball and we are once again expecting great numbers of families and friends in attendance.

Tag(s): Home