skip navigation
Home Contact Us Join WBCA Camps & Clinics Coaching Positions WBCA Awards Games Wanted WBCA All-State Teams Calendar

South All-Star Team Finalized

05/08/2024, 5:00am CDT
By Joe Waite, WBCA

Good mix of Big School and Small School players picked

Ron Kading, retired Hall of Fame Coach from Potosi, WBCA Awards Director and Historian, and Chairman of the South All-Star Team, has finalized the South All-Stars for the WBCA's 40th Annual All-Star Classic, to be held in Oshkosh on the weekend of June 28th and 29th.

Kading had to sift through many deserving players and its never an easy process when so many deserving players are left off the roster.

For a player to play in the Classic, his head coach must be a member of the WBCA, he must nominate his player, and the player has to accept the invitation.

Six pitchers were chosen: from the Big Eight Conference Verona's Jack Detienne, Madison Memorial's Cashton Jones, and Janesville Craig's Drayton Lou made the squad.  Rounding out the pitching staff is Oregon's Brock Buskager (D1, Badger East), Cambridge's Carter Lund (D3, Capitol South) and Mauston's Brock Massey (D2, South Central Conference.)

Catching them will be Verona's Nate Novinska and McFarland's Braylan Roder (D2, Badger Small Conference).

The team's six infielders are Janesville Craig's Charlie Claas, John Hadley from the state's top ranked D1 Team and also a Big Eight school, Sun Prairie East and four kids from smaller schools including Lake Mills' Brody Henderson (D2, Capitol South), Pecatonica's Tyler McKeon (D4, Six Rivers East), Green Lake-Princeton's Maddux Poock (D3, Trailways North) and the defending D4 State Champion Ithaca Bulldog's Micah Salisbury (Ridge & Valley Conference).

Four outfielder's round out the squad including two players from the Badger Large Conference, Waunakee's Danny Cotter and Monona Grove's Nick Guidici (both D1 programs), Portage's Keagan Hooker (D2, Badger Small), and Pecatonica's Jameson Johnson.

The team will be coached by Larry Martin (Cambridge), Darin Pape (Sauk Prairie), and Hall of Famer Pat Reilly (Dodgeville).  Jefferson's Mike Henningsen has been chosen as umpire from the region.

Tag(s): Home